Episodes

September 27, 2021

Autumn Apples

Raised planting beds by Birdie and Epic Gardening Birdies. I got these from epicGardening.com https://shop.epicgardening.com/ Today is Johnny Appleseed day today. https://www.holidayscalendar.com/event/johnny-appleseed-day/...

September 25, 2021

One-Hit Wonders

Today is National One-Hit-Wonder Day https://www.westernjournal.com/national-one-hit-wonder-day-top-one-hit-wonders-per-decade/ A list of one-hit-wonders https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_one-hit_wonders_in_the_United_Sta...

September 25, 2021

Punctuation and Neon Lights

Today is National Punctuation Day https://www.nationalpunctuationday.com Born on this day in 1870 Georges Claude, French engineer and inventor https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Georges_Claude What would you put on free billboard ...

September 24, 2021

What if Euripides Wrote Commercials?

Today is Remember Me Thursday https://remembermethursday.org/ raising awareness for orphaned and sheltered pets. Born on this day in 480 BC Greek Playwright Euripides in Salamis, Greece https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Euripides...

September 23, 2021

Wild Swans

Today is the autumnal equinox. To celebrate we read a beautiful poem of autumn, The Wild Swans at Coole by William Butler Yeats.

September 22, 2021

Macadamisation

Remembering the style of Paul Harvey 892 days until my retirement Today is also World Alzheimer’s Day https://nationaltoday.com/world-alzheimers-day/ Born on this day in 1756, John Loudon McAdam https://www.onthisday.com/ Sco...

September 21, 2021

Milestone Episode

Celebrating seven months of continuous daily podcasting.

September 20, 2021

Talk Like A Pirate

Today is one of my favorites! It’s national talk like a pirate day. https://nationaltoday.com/talk-like-pirate-day/ Today's word is tintinnabulation https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/tintinnabulation Born on this da...

September 19, 2021

Happy United States Air Force Day.

Today is United States Air Force Birthday day! https://www.holidayscalendar.com/event/air-force-birthday/ Today's word is testudinal https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/testudinal Born on this day in 1709, the Scholar ...

September 18, 2021

Isn't It Nice To Be Home Again

Today is National Isn’t-it-nice-to-be-home-again day”, the day that celebrates the homecoming of all road-weary business travelers. Today’s Question: What is the oddest way you ever accidentally hurt yourself?

September 17, 2021

From the Road - Thursday

What is my favorite thing about myself?

September 16, 2021

From the Road - Wednesday

From behind the wheel of my Dodge Ram pick-em-up truck traveling north on I-75 through Tennessee and Kentucky, this is my response to the question: What is your favorite simple pleasure?

September 15, 2021

From the Road - Tuesday

From behind the wheel of my Dodge Ram pick-em-up truck traveling north on I-75, this is my response to the question: What is something that strangers often incorrectly assume about you?

September 14, 2021

The Novel

Today is another milestone. 900 days until I retire from professional employment. Also of note today is National Celiac Disease Awareness Day https://nationaltoday.com/national-celiac-disease-awareness-day/ Today's word is ...

September 13, 2021

Dad’s Memorial Service

The recorded live stream is here https://fb.watch/7_nhNTrzYn/

September 12, 2021

Today is Patriot Day, 9/11

Today is Patriot Day, 9/11, https://nationaltoday.com/national-day-service-remembrance/ Today's word is patriot https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/patrio Born on this day in 1862, author O. Henry, full name William Sy...

September 11, 2021

TV Dinners and A Dog

Yesterday, September 9, I missed an important event. It was announced that Actor Michael Constantine died on Aug. 31 at his home in Reading, PA at age 94. https://www.nytimes.com/2021/09/08/arts/michael-constantine-father-in...

September 10, 2021

Pacifists Play Sudoku

Today is International Sudoku Day https://nationaltoday.com/international-sudoku-day/ Today's word is pacifist https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/pacifist Born on this day in 1828, Leo Tolstoy https://www.onthisday.co...

September 09, 2021

Milestone Episode

Today is the 200th consecutive episode of this artful endeavor. And so today’s word is persevere https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/persevere Today is also National Ampersand Day https://nationaltoday.com/national-amp...

September 08, 2021

Do the Goodfellas Make More Calls on Telephone Tuesday?

Today is telephone Tuesday https://nationaltoday.com/telephone-tuesday/ Today's word is Goodfella https://wiki2.org/en/Glossary_of_Mafia-related_words Born on this day in 1942, gangster Roy DeMeo, https://www.onthisday.com/

September 07, 2021

Let's be Agrarian

Today is the Labor Day holiday in the United States of ‘Merica https://nationaltoday.com/labor-day/ Today's word is agrarian https://www.merriam-webster.com/ Born on this day in 1888, Joseph P. Kennedy, patriarch of the Kenne...

September 06, 2021

Did Jesse James Have A Pet Rock?

Today is National Pet Rock Day https://nationaltoday.com/national-pet-rock-day/ The pet rock was created by advertising executive Gary Dahl in April 1975 https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gary_Dahl_(entrepreneur) Today's word is ...

September 05, 2021

Be Thankful For Beards, Paul Harvey, and Everything Else

Today is World Beard Day https://www.holidayscalendar.com/event/world-beard-day/ Born on this day in 1918, news commentator Paul Harvey, https://www.onthisday.com/people/paul-harvey From Positively Positive dot com, here are ...

September 04, 2021

Bowling, Solipsism, and Architecture

Today is U.S. Bowling League Day https://nationaldaycalendar.com/u-s-bowling-league-day-september-3/?subscribe=success#485 Today's word is Solipsism https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/solipsism Born on this day in 185...