Episodes

August 31, 2021

Would you Osculate With Frankenstein?

Today is Frankenstein Day https://nationaltoday.com/frankenstein-day/ Born in London on this day in 1797, author Mary Wollstonecraft Shelley, better known as Mary Shelly, author of Frankenstein. https://www.onthisday.com/peop...

August 29, 2021

Lemons and Ayurveda

Today is National Lemon Juice Day https://nationaltoday.com/national-lemon-juice-day/ Born on this day in 1936, Senator John McCain, in the Panama Canal Zone https://www.onthisday.com/people/john-mccain Also on this day, in 2...

August 28, 2021

Let’s Repatriate Bow Ties

Today is National Bow Tie Day https://nationaltoday.com/national-bow-tie-day/ Today's word is Repatriate https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/repatriate Today's birthday is Vladimir Shukhov https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki...

August 27, 2021

Trepidatious Thrift Store Shopping

What’s happening today https://nationaltoday.com/august-27-holidays/ Lyndon Johnson https://www.onthisday.com/people/lyndon-b-johnson From the blog at RichGrimshaw.com https://richgrimshaw.com/Blog/blog-item-15/#wbb1 Episode ...

August 26, 2021

Celebrating National Dog Day

Today is National Dog Day https://nationaltoday.com/national-dog-day/ We celebrate with excerpts from The Psychology of Why We Love Dogs written by Joe Duncan on Medium.com https://medium.com/moments-of-passion/the-psychology...

August 25, 2021

Did Leonard Bernstein Wear Secondhand Clothes?

Today is National Secondhand Wardrobe Day https://nationaltoday.com/national-secondhand-wardrobe-day/ Born on this day in 1918, Leonard Bernstein https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Leonard_Bernstein From the blog at Rich Grimshaw....

August 24, 2021

How Can A Person Have Nothing To Say?

Today is National Waffle Day https://nationaltoday.com/national-waffle-day/ Today's word is protagonist https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/protagonist Today's birthday is Mason Williams https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/M...

August 23, 2021

Retirement and Death

Today is Cheap Flight Day, Health Unit Coordinators Day, National Sponge Cake Day, National Cuban Sandwich Day, and National Heroes Day (celebrated in the Philippines) https://nationaltoday.com/august-23-holidays/ Today's wor...

August 22, 2021

Half A Year

Today is Be an Angel day, National Take Your Cat to the Vet day, and World Plant Milk Day https://nationaltoday.com/august-22-holidays/ Today's word is extemporaneous https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/extemporaneous ...

August 21, 2021

Laughter, Smiles, and Epistemology

Today is National Senior Citizens Day www.nationaltoday.com/national-senior-citizens-day/ Today's word is Epistemology https://www.britannica.com/topic/epistemology Today's birthday is Sergey Brin https://www.onthisday.com/pe...

August 20, 2021

Special Birthday on National Radio Day

Today is National Radio Day. https://nationaltoday.com/national-radio-day/ Today's word is Forfend https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/forfend Born this day in 1948, rock singer Robert Plant, in west Bromwich, England ...

August 19, 2021

Be Not Boring

Today is World Photo Day https://nationaltoday.com/world-photo-day/ Today's word is Defenestration https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/defenestration Today's birthday is Satya Nadella, CEO of Microsoft. https://www.ont...

August 18, 2021

Eat a Fajita; Advance Your Enculturation

Today isNational Fajita Day https://nationaltoday.com/national-fajita-day/ Today's word is enculturation https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/enculturated Born on this day in 1774, Meriwether Lewis https://www.onthisday...

August 17, 2021

Save Planet Earth; Buy at Thrift Shops

Today is National Thrift Shop Day https://nationaltoday.com/national-thrift-shop-day/ Today's word is Retronym https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/retronym Today's birthday is Francis Gary Powers https://www.onthisday....

August 16, 2021

Did You Hear The One About . . .

Today is National Tell A Joke Day. https://nationaltoday.com/national-tell-joke-day/ Today's word is Panspermia https://www.merriam-webster.com/medical/panspermia On this day in 1977, Elvis left the building. https://www.onth...

August 16, 2021

Oscar Peterson Didn’t Play at Woodstock

The Woodstock Music and Art Fair opened on this day in 1969 https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Woodstock Today's word is remonstrance https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/remonstrance Happy birthday is Oscar Peterson, born o...

August 15, 2021

Doc Holliday Goes Bowling

Happy National Bowling Day. www.nationaltoday.com Today's birthday is John Henry Holliday, a.k.a. Doc Holliday. https://www.onthisday.com/people/doc-holliday Today's word is Axinomancy https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictiona...

August 14, 2021

Was Annie Oakley a Lefty?

International Lefthanders day https://nationaltoday.com/international-lefthanders-day/ Today’s word is Contraremonstrance https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/contraremonstrance Today’s birthday is Annie Oakley https://...

August 13, 2021

A Thursday

Today is also National Vinyl Record Day. https://nationaltoday.com/national-vinyl-record-day/

August 12, 2021

A Wednesday

Today's word is Californium. It's not what you think.

August 11, 2021

A Tuesday

Another day in Louisville.

August 10, 2021

A Monday

A good day being with real people. In the flesh, not virtual.

August 08, 2021

Dying to Know What to Do With Powers of Invisibility

Today is Dying to Know Day https://nationaltoday.com/dying-know-day/ The Groundswell Project https://www.thegroundswellproject.com/ Our word today is consanguineous https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/consanguineous Ha...

August 07, 2021

The Grand Mustard Maker

Today is National Mustard Day https://nationaltoday.com/national-mustard-day/ Ansley Mall, Atlanta, Georgia https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ansley_Mall Our word today is mordacious https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/mor...