Episodes

August 07, 2021

The Grand Mustard Maker

Today is National Mustard Day https://nationaltoday.com/national-mustard-day/ Ansley Mall, Atlanta, Georgia https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ansley_Mall Our word today is mordacious https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/mor...

August 06, 2021

Play the Piano

Today is International Beer Day https://nationaltoday.com/international-beer-day/

August 05, 2021

Podcaster Auteur: Richard

Today's birthday is Apollo 11 astronaut Neil Armstrong https://www.onthisday.com/people/neil-armstrong Died on this day, Marilyn Monroe, Age 36. https://www.onthisday.com/people/marilyn-monroe Today’s word is auteur https://w...

August 04, 2021

Early Euphoric Memories

Today is World Cookie Day. https://nationaltoday.com/national-chocolate-chip-cookie-day/ Happy birthday to Louis Armstrong, Barack Obama, and the United States Coast Guard https://www.onthisday.com/people/louis-armstrong http...

August 03, 2021

Grab Some Nuts. Grab Some Nuts (echolalia in action)

Our word today is echolalia. https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/echolalia Happy birthday, John T. Scopes. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/John_T._Scopes

August 02, 2021

Initialism or Acronym?

Our word today is Initialism https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/initialism

August 01, 2021

A Surfeit of Conspiracy Theories

Today is World Wide Web Day https://nationaltoday.com/world-wide-web-day/ Happy 40th birthday, MTV https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/MTV The top 10 conspiracy theories we believe are true https://www.ranker.com/list/the-conspirac...

July 31, 2021

Conspiracies

Today is National Mutt Day https://nationaltoday.com/national-mutt-day-july/ Our word for today is importune . Try using it in your next instagram post. Happy Birthday Susan Bennet https://www.famousbirthdays.com/people/susa...

July 31, 2021

Demonyms and Other Delights

Today is Paperback Book Day https://nationaltoday.com/paperback-book-day/ Our word for today is demonym https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/demonym Happy 80th birthday Paul Anka https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Paul_Anka ...

July 29, 2021

Dreaming of Being an Alien Intern

Our word today is intern https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/intern Today is National Intern Day https://nationaltoday.com/national-intern-day/ Alien abduction stories are the stuff of dreams https://www.iflscience.com...

July 29, 2021

The Preternatural Story of the Revolving Door

Our word today is preternatural. https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/preternatural Facts on the revolving door at https://science.howstuffworks.com/innovation/everyday-innovations/who-invented-the-revolving-door.htm Ep...

July 28, 2021

Scotch, Dreams, and New Friends

Today is National Scotch Day https://nationaltoday.com/national-scotch-day/ From the blog of Matthew Dicks, one of the most interesting people I know. https://mail.google.com/mail/u/0/#inbox/FMfcgzGkZZpQPXsbnJxBhLcDVCtTvhpl

July 27, 2021

Old Rockers and Covid

Today is National Aunts and Uncles Day https://nationaltoday.com/national-aunt-and-uncle-day/ Our word today is tante https://forvo.com/word/tante/

July 25, 2021

Hot Fudge Sundae Not Involved in OSHA Ruling

Today's word is Sundae https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/sundae

July 24, 2021

Celebrating Thermal Engineers and Old Jokes

Today is NATIONAL THERMAL ENGINEER DAY! https://nationaltoday.com/national-thermal-engineer-day

July 24, 2021

Alison Krouse is Transcendent on National Vanilla Ice Cream Day

Today is National Vanilla Ice Cream Day https://nationaltoday.com/national-vanilla-ice-cream-day/ Happy birthday Allison Krause https://alisonkrauss.com/ Episode art provided by Dana DeVolk https://unsplash.com/@thissillygirl...

July 23, 2021

Grizzly Bears and Selena Gomez Find Ways to Improve Their Mental Health

Episode art provided by Becca https://unsplash.com/@binkabonka

July 22, 2021

Hot Dogs, Kraken, Washing Dishes

International podcast day is coming up on 9/30. https://internationalpodcastday.com/

July 21, 2021

Wally Funk and Persistence

More about Wally Funk: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wally_Funk Here are other uses of persist: https://www.wisesayings.com/persistence-quotes/

July 20, 2021

Pegasus

https://www.amnesty.org/en/latest/research/2021/07/forensic-methodology-report-how-to-catch-nso-groups-pegasus/

July 19, 2021

Ampersand

Today is World Listening Day. Sounds interesting https://nationaltoday.com/world-listening-day/ The story of the ampersand https://www.designbridge.com/27th-letter-alphabet/

July 18, 2021

Encomiums for the Woodie Wagon.

National Woodie Club website https://woodies.clubexpress.com/content.aspx?sl=1488979236 Beach Boys’ Surfin Safari album cover featuring a woodie wagon https://fanart.tv/fanart/music/ebfc1398-8d96-47e3-82c3-f782abcdb13d/albu...

July 17, 2021

Ahoy! That is All.

Guinea Pig Appreciation Day https://nationaltoday.com/guinea-pig-appreciation-day/ Burnet House in Cincinnati, Ohioh https://www.cincinnati.com/story/news/2017/11/15/our-history-spirit-history-alive-burnet-house-site/86647000...

July 16, 2021

Clippy’s Comeback as an Avuncular Emoji.

Today is national be a dork day https://nationaltoday.com/national-be-a-dork-day/ Our word today is avuncular https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/avuncular Clippy is coming back. Engadget reports that https://www.enga...