Episodes

Happy Farmers Day

Oct. 13, 2021

My favorite farmer is Pete Larsen. He shares his farm life on his Youtube channel Just A Few Acres https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCkOTo20XS1LL95g2p6CcE3A

Practice or Training?

Oct. 12, 2021

Practice or Training?

John Prine’s Paradise

Oct. 11, 2021

John Prine’s Paradise Today is National Metric Day https://nationaldaycalendar.com/national-metric-day-october-10/ Born on this day in 1946, in Maywood, Illinois, American country folk singer-songwriter John Prine, (Hello …

Running On Empty

Oct. 10, 2021

Today is National C60 Day, https://nationaltoday.com/national-c60-day/ Born on this day in 1948, American rock singer-songwriter Jackson Browne ("Running On Empty"; "The Pretender"), born in Heidelberg, Germany https://en.…

Awesome Bill

Oct. 9, 2021

Today is the 230th consecutive daily episode of the Daily Podcast Practice show, and it’s the 875th day before I plan to retire from my professional career. http:\\Dailypodcastpractice.com It’s also opening night for the loc…

Peculiar Physics and Physicists

Oct. 8, 2021

Follow up on the author Tracy Kidder https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tracy_Kidder author of 11 books, his second book, Soul of a New Machine won the Pulitzer Prize. Today is NATIONAL LED LIGHT DAY https://dailyevent24.com/nat…

Go Ahead, Give Your Daughter(s) Some Money

Oct. 7, 2021

Today is National Transfer Money to Your Daughter Day https://nationaltoday.com/national-transfer-money-to-your-daughter-day/ Born on this day in 1846, Entrepreneur and engineer George Westinghouse in Central Bridge, New Yor…

Be Nice to Tracy Kidder

Oct. 6, 2021

Today is National Do Something Nice Day AND National Be Nice Day https://nationaltoday.com/national-something-nice-day/ https://nationaltoday.com/national-be-nice-day/ Born on this day in 1829 in Fairfield, Vermont, Chester …

If Podcasting Were A Sport

Oct. 5, 2021

If podcasting were a sport, what would the game be like? What are the rules? Today is National Cinnamon Roll Day! https://nationaltoday.com/national-cinnamon-roll-day/ What is a unique tradition your family had? What is a f…

Celebrating George Bailey Brayton on National Techies Day

Oct. 4, 2021

In addition to being a day where we practice the sport of podcasting, today is also known as National Techies Day. https://www.holidayscalendar.com/event/national-techies-day/ Born on this day in 1830 in Rhode Island, George…

What’s the Name of Your Car?

Oct. 3, 2021

Today is National Name Your Car Day https://nationaltoday.com/national-name-your-car-day/ . What is a smell you associate with your childhood? Today’s word is petrichor, which, according to Merriam-Webster.com is “a distinct…

Happy Birthday Jimmy

Oct. 2, 2021

Born on this day in 1924, in Plains, Georgia, James Earl "Jimmy" Carter, Jr., 39th president of the United States of America https://www.onthisday.com/people/jimmy-carter

Happy Birthday Decimus Burton on International Podcast Day

Oct. 1, 2021

Today is International Podcast Day https://internationalpodcastday.com/ A special happy birthday to do to Bernard Rich, a.k.a. Buddy Rich, renowned drummer, musician, and band leader. Born on this day in 1917 in Brooklyn, N…

Coffee, Don Quixote, and Frank Sinatra

Sept. 30, 2021

We have a global shortage of coffee beans ( https://www.businessinsider.com/coffee-shortage-beans-set-to-get-more-expensive-2021-7?op=1 ) Happy National Coffee Day https://nationaltoday.com/national-coffee-day/ Born on this …

Confucius Say. . .

Sept. 29, 2021

Today is National Ask a Stupid Question Day https://nationaltoday.com/national-ask-stupid-question-day/ Born on this day in 551 BC Confucius in the modern-day province of Shandong, China https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Confuci…

Dad Did Genealogy

Sept. 28, 2021

Today is Ancestor Appreciation Day https://nationaltoday.com/ancestor-appreciation-day/ Today's word is genealogy https://www.merriam-webster.com/ Born on this day in 1996 in San Diego, CA, American actor Daeg Faerch (Day-g …

Autumn Apples

Sept. 27, 2021

Raised planting beds by Birdie and Epic Gardening Birdies. I got these from epicGardening.com https://shop.epicgardening.com/ Today is Johnny Appleseed day today. https://www.holidayscalendar.com/event/johnny-appleseed-day…

One-Hit Wonders

Sept. 25, 2021

Today is National One-Hit-Wonder Day https://www.westernjournal.com/national-one-hit-wonder-day-top-one-hit-wonders-per-decade/ A list of one-hit-wonders https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_one-hit_wonders_in_the_United_St…

Punctuation and Neon Lights

Sept. 25, 2021

Today is National Punctuation Day https://www.nationalpunctuationday.com Born on this day in 1870 Georges Claude, French engineer and inventor https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Georges_Claude What would you put on free billboard…

What if Euripides Wrote Commercials?

Sept. 24, 2021

Today is Remember Me Thursday https://remembermethursday.org/ raising awareness for orphaned and sheltered pets. Born on this day in 480 BC Greek Playwright Euripides in Salamis, Greece https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Euripide…

Wild Swans

Sept. 23, 2021

Today is the autumnal equinox. To celebrate we read a beautiful poem of autumn, The Wild Swans at Coole by William Butler Yeats.

Macadamisation

Sept. 22, 2021

Remembering the style of Paul Harvey 892 days until my retirement Today is also World Alzheimer’s Day https://nationaltoday.com/world-alzheimers-day/ Born on this day in 1756, John Loudon McAdam https://www.onthisday.com/ Sc…

Milestone Episode

Sept. 21, 2021

Celebrating seven months of continuous daily podcasting.

Talk Like A Pirate

Sept. 20, 2021

Today is one of my favorites! It’s national talk like a pirate day. https://nationaltoday.com/talk-like-pirate-day/ Today's word is tintinnabulation https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/tintinnabulation Born on this d…