Episodes

Pitt Bulls Are Not Polymaths

Oct. 24, 2021

Today is National Pit Bull Awareness Day or NPBAD. It was established to educate and foster positive communications and experiences in the communities in which we and our dogs live, and it is an initiative dedicated to rest…

Curly Howard - Nuts

Oct. 23, 2021

Today is National Nut Day , the day created by the Liberation Foods Company to do the right thing by the collectives of small nut farmers around the world. Born on this day in 1903, in brooklyn, NY, American vaudevillian ac…

Apples and Another Audio Engineer

Oct. 22, 2021

Today is National Apple Day, a day dedicated entirely to celebrating all things apple. Born on this day in 1951, American audio engineer and record producer Thom Panunzio . Thom has worked with Bruce Springsteen; The Roches…

Milestone Episode: Eight Months of Daily Podcasts

Oct. 21, 2021

Today is National Day On Writing https://nationaltoday.com/national-day-on-writing/ Born on this day in 1922, in Manhattan, NY Tom Dowd, American recording engineer and producer for Atlantic Records, credited with innovating…

Gin and Tonic; Banks and Shane

Oct. 20, 2021

Today is International Gin and Tonic Day Born on this day in 1934, in San Francisco, California, American folk singer, songwriter, arranger, and recording artist Dave Guard . Today's word is Indolent . What villain do you se…

Exascale and Colin Luther Powell

Oct. 19, 2021

Today is, according to my friend Simple Joe from Sin Sin At Ty o HI o, National Exascale day . You can follow Joe in his daily podcast by going to The Simple Joe dot com. I listen to my friend Joe every day, and you should,…

Keep It Clean

Oct. 17, 2021

Today is National Clean Your Virtual Desktop Day https://nationaltoday.com/clean-virtual-desktop-day/ thanks to the good folks at the Personal Computer Museum of Ontario Canada . Born on this day in 1956, in Decatur, Alabama…

Noah Webster, Crushed Garlic, and Limburger Cheese

Oct. 16, 2021

Born on this day in 1758 in West Hartford, Connecticut, Noah Webster https://www.onthisday.com/people/noah-webster https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Noah_Webster an American lexicographer, textbook pioneer, English-language spel…

Grouch Day

Oct. 16, 2021

Today is National Grouch Day. https://nationaltoday.com/national-grouch-day/ Born on this day in 1935 in Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, American singer-songwriter Barry McGuire. https://barrymcguire.com/ Today's word is grouch htt…

7-11

Oct. 15, 2021

On this day in 1974, singer and actor Bing Crosby died of a heart attack at age 74 https://www.onthisday.com/people/bing-crosby 7-11 Voice Over Script https://www.voiceactorwebsites.com/7-11/

Yorkshire Pudding and Ray Brown

Oct. 14, 2021

Today is National Yorkshire Pudding Day https://nationaltoday.com/national-yorkshire-pudding-day/ Born on this day in 1926 in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, American jazz double bassist, Ray Brown, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/R…

Happy Farmers Day

Oct. 13, 2021

My favorite farmer is Pete Larsen. He shares his farm life on his Youtube channel Just A Few Acres https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCkOTo20XS1LL95g2p6CcE3A

Practice or Training?

Oct. 12, 2021

Practice or Training?

John Prine’s Paradise

Oct. 11, 2021

John Prine’s Paradise Today is National Metric Day https://nationaldaycalendar.com/national-metric-day-october-10/ Born on this day in 1946, in Maywood, Illinois, American country folk singer-songwriter John Prine, (Hello …

Running On Empty

Oct. 10, 2021

Today is National C60 Day, https://nationaltoday.com/national-c60-day/ Born on this day in 1948, American rock singer-songwriter Jackson Browne ("Running On Empty"; "The Pretender"), born in Heidelberg, Germany https://en.…

Awesome Bill

Oct. 9, 2021

Today is the 230th consecutive daily episode of the Daily Podcast Practice show, and it’s the 875th day before I plan to retire from my professional career. http:\\Dailypodcastpractice.com It’s also opening night for the loc…

Peculiar Physics and Physicists

Oct. 8, 2021

Follow up on the author Tracy Kidder https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tracy_Kidder author of 11 books, his second book, Soul of a New Machine won the Pulitzer Prize. Today is NATIONAL LED LIGHT DAY https://dailyevent24.com/nat…

Go Ahead, Give Your Daughter(s) Some Money

Oct. 7, 2021

Today is National Transfer Money to Your Daughter Day https://nationaltoday.com/national-transfer-money-to-your-daughter-day/ Born on this day in 1846, Entrepreneur and engineer George Westinghouse in Central Bridge, New Yor…

Be Nice to Tracy Kidder

Oct. 6, 2021

Today is National Do Something Nice Day AND National Be Nice Day https://nationaltoday.com/national-something-nice-day/ https://nationaltoday.com/national-be-nice-day/ Born on this day in 1829 in Fairfield, Vermont, Chester …

If Podcasting Were A Sport

Oct. 5, 2021

If podcasting were a sport, what would the game be like? What are the rules? Today is National Cinnamon Roll Day! https://nationaltoday.com/national-cinnamon-roll-day/ What is a unique tradition your family had? What is a f…

Celebrating George Bailey Brayton on National Techies Day

Oct. 4, 2021

In addition to being a day where we practice the sport of podcasting, today is also known as National Techies Day. https://www.holidayscalendar.com/event/national-techies-day/ Born on this day in 1830 in Rhode Island, George…

What’s the Name of Your Car?

Oct. 3, 2021

Today is National Name Your Car Day https://nationaltoday.com/national-name-your-car-day/ . What is a smell you associate with your childhood? Today’s word is petrichor, which, according to Merriam-Webster.com is “a distinct…

Happy Birthday Jimmy

Oct. 2, 2021

Born on this day in 1924, in Plains, Georgia, James Earl "Jimmy" Carter, Jr., 39th president of the United States of America https://www.onthisday.com/people/jimmy-carter

Happy Birthday Decimus Burton on International Podcast Day

Oct. 1, 2021

Today is International Podcast Day https://internationalpodcastday.com/ A special happy birthday to do to Bernard Rich, a.k.a. Buddy Rich, renowned drummer, musician, and band leader. Born on this day in 1917 in Brooklyn, N…