Episodes

Happy United States Air Force Day.

Sept. 19, 2021

Today is United States Air Force Birthday day! https://www.holidayscalendar.com/event/air-force-birthday/ Today's word is testudinal https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/testudinal Born on this day in 1709, the Scholar…

Isn't It Nice To Be Home Again

Sept. 18, 2021

Today is National Isn’t-it-nice-to-be-home-again day”, the day that celebrates the homecoming of all road-weary business travelers. Today’s Question: What is the oddest way you ever accidentally hurt yourself?

From the Road - Thursday

Sept. 17, 2021

What is my favorite thing about myself?

From the Road - Wednesday

Sept. 16, 2021

From behind the wheel of my Dodge Ram pick-em-up truck traveling north on I-75 through Tennessee and Kentucky, this is my response to the question: What is your favorite simple pleasure?

From the Road - Tuesday

Sept. 15, 2021

From behind the wheel of my Dodge Ram pick-em-up truck traveling north on I-75, this is my response to the question: What is something that strangers often incorrectly assume about you?

The Novel

Sept. 14, 2021

Today is another milestone. 900 days until I retire from professional employment. Also of note today is National Celiac Disease Awareness Day https://nationaltoday.com/national-celiac-disease-awareness-day/ Today's word is…

Dad’s Memorial Service

Sept. 13, 2021

The recorded live stream is here https://fb.watch/7_nhNTrzYn/

Today is Patriot Day, 9/11

Sept. 12, 2021

Today is Patriot Day, 9/11, https://nationaltoday.com/national-day-service-remembrance/ Today's word is patriot https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/patrio Born on this day in 1862, author O. Henry, full name William S…

TV Dinners and A Dog

Sept. 11, 2021

Yesterday, September 9, I missed an important event. It was announced that Actor Michael Constantine died on Aug. 31 at his home in Reading, PA at age 94. https://www.nytimes.com/2021/09/08/arts/michael-constantine-father-i…

Pacifists Play Sudoku

Sept. 10, 2021

Today is International Sudoku Day https://nationaltoday.com/international-sudoku-day/ Today's word is pacifist https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/pacifist Born on this day in 1828, Leo Tolstoy https://www.onthisday.c…

Milestone Episode

Sept. 9, 2021

Today is the 200th consecutive episode of this artful endeavor. And so today’s word is persevere https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/persevere Today is also National Ampersand Day https://nationaltoday.com/national-am…

Do the Goodfellas Make More Calls on Telephone Tuesday?

Sept. 8, 2021

Today is telephone Tuesday https://nationaltoday.com/telephone-tuesday/ Today's word is Goodfella https://wiki2.org/en/Glossary_of_Mafia-related_words Born on this day in 1942, gangster Roy DeMeo, https://www.onthisday.com/

Let's be Agrarian

Sept. 7, 2021

Today is the Labor Day holiday in the United States of ‘Merica https://nationaltoday.com/labor-day/ Today's word is agrarian https://www.merriam-webster.com/ Born on this day in 1888, Joseph P. Kennedy, patriarch of the Kenn…

Did Jesse James Have A Pet Rock?

Sept. 6, 2021

Today is National Pet Rock Day https://nationaltoday.com/national-pet-rock-day/ The pet rock was created by advertising executive Gary Dahl in April 1975 https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gary_Dahl_(entrepreneur) Today's word is…

Be Thankful For Beards, Paul Harvey, and Everything Else

Sept. 5, 2021

Today is World Beard Day https://www.holidayscalendar.com/event/world-beard-day/ Born on this day in 1918, news commentator Paul Harvey, https://www.onthisday.com/people/paul-harvey From Positively Positive dot com, here are…

Bowling, Solipsism, and Architecture

Sept. 4, 2021

Today is U.S. Bowling League Day https://nationaldaycalendar.com/u-s-bowling-league-day-september-3/?subscribe=success#485 Today's word is Solipsism https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/solipsism Born on this day in 18…

Conner and McEnroe

Sept. 3, 2021

Today is Victory over Japan day, or VJ day. https://nationaltoday.com/vj-day/ Today's word is victory https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/victory Born on this day in 1952, https://www.onthisday.com/ Tennis legend Jimm…

Writing in Cursive

Sept. 2, 2021

Today is World Letter-Writing Day https://nationaltoday.com/world-letter-writing-day/ Today's word is cursive https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/cursive Born on this day in 1939, Lily Tomlin https://en.wikipedia.org/…

Arthur Godfrey and Tractors

Aug. 31, 2021

Today is National Trail Mix Day https://nationaltoday.com/national-trail-mix-day Today's word is chimerical https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/chimerical Born on this day in 1903 Arthur Godfrey https://www.onthisday.…

Would you Osculate With Frankenstein?

Aug. 31, 2021

Today is Frankenstein Day https://nationaltoday.com/frankenstein-day/ Born in London on this day in 1797, author Mary Wollstonecraft Shelley, better known as Mary Shelly, author of Frankenstein. https://www.onthisday.com/peo…

Lemons and Ayurveda

Aug. 29, 2021

Today is National Lemon Juice Day https://nationaltoday.com/national-lemon-juice-day/ Born on this day in 1936, Senator John McCain, in the Panama Canal Zone https://www.onthisday.com/people/john-mccain Also on this day, in …

Let’s Repatriate Bow Ties

Aug. 28, 2021

Today is National Bow Tie Day https://nationaltoday.com/national-bow-tie-day/ Today's word is Repatriate https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/repatriate Today's birthday is Vladimir Shukhov https://en.wikipedia.org/wik…

Trepidatious Thrift Store Shopping

Aug. 27, 2021

What’s happening today https://nationaltoday.com/august-27-holidays/ Lyndon Johnson https://www.onthisday.com/people/lyndon-b-johnson From the blog at RichGrimshaw.com https://richgrimshaw.com/Blog/blog-item-15/#wbb1 Episode…

Celebrating National Dog Day

Aug. 26, 2021

Today is National Dog Day https://nationaltoday.com/national-dog-day/ We celebrate with excerpts from The Psychology of Why We Love Dogs written by Joe Duncan on Medium.com https://medium.com/moments-of-passion/the-psycholog…