Episodes

Did Leonard Bernstein Wear Secondhand Clothes?

Aug. 25, 2021

Today is National Secondhand Wardrobe Day https://nationaltoday.com/national-secondhand-wardrobe-day/ Born on this day in 1918, Leonard Bernstein https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Leonard_Bernstein From the blog at Rich Grimshaw…

How Can A Person Have Nothing To Say?

Aug. 24, 2021

Today is National Waffle Day https://nationaltoday.com/national-waffle-day/ Today's word is protagonist https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/protagonist Today's birthday is Mason Williams https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/…

Retirement and Death

Aug. 23, 2021

Today is Cheap Flight Day, Health Unit Coordinators Day, National Sponge Cake Day, National Cuban Sandwich Day, and National Heroes Day (celebrated in the Philippines) https://nationaltoday.com/august-23-holidays/ Today's wo…

Half A Year

Aug. 22, 2021

Today is Be an Angel day, National Take Your Cat to the Vet day, and World Plant Milk Day https://nationaltoday.com/august-22-holidays/ Today's word is extemporaneous https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/extemporaneous…

Laughter, Smiles, and Epistemology

Aug. 21, 2021

Today is National Senior Citizens Day www.nationaltoday.com/national-senior-citizens-day/ Today's word is Epistemology https://www.britannica.com/topic/epistemology Today's birthday is Sergey Brin https://www.onthisday.com/p…

Special Birthday on National Radio Day

Aug. 20, 2021

Today is National Radio Day. https://nationaltoday.com/national-radio-day/ Today's word is Forfend https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/forfend Born this day in 1948, rock singer Robert Plant, in west Bromwich, England…

Be Not Boring

Aug. 19, 2021

Today is World Photo Day https://nationaltoday.com/world-photo-day/ Today's word is Defenestration https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/defenestration Today's birthday is Satya Nadella, CEO of Microsoft. https://www.on…

Eat a Fajita; Advance Your Enculturation

Aug. 18, 2021

Today isNational Fajita Day https://nationaltoday.com/national-fajita-day/ Today's word is enculturation https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/enculturated Born on this day in 1774, Meriwether Lewis https://www.onthisda…

Save Planet Earth; Buy at Thrift Shops

Aug. 17, 2021

Today is National Thrift Shop Day https://nationaltoday.com/national-thrift-shop-day/ Today's word is Retronym https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/retronym Today's birthday is Francis Gary Powers https://www.onthisday…

Did You Hear The One About . . .

Aug. 16, 2021

Today is National Tell A Joke Day. https://nationaltoday.com/national-tell-joke-day/ Today's word is Panspermia https://www.merriam-webster.com/medical/panspermia On this day in 1977, Elvis left the building. https://www.ont…

Oscar Peterson Didn’t Play at Woodstock

Aug. 16, 2021

The Woodstock Music and Art Fair opened on this day in 1969 https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Woodstock Today's word is remonstrance https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/remonstrance Happy birthday is Oscar Peterson, born …

Doc Holliday Goes Bowling

Aug. 15, 2021

Happy National Bowling Day. www.nationaltoday.com Today's birthday is John Henry Holliday, a.k.a. Doc Holliday. https://www.onthisday.com/people/doc-holliday Today's word is Axinomancy https://www.merriam-webster.com/diction…

Was Annie Oakley a Lefty?

Aug. 14, 2021

International Lefthanders day https://nationaltoday.com/international-lefthanders-day/ Today’s word is Contraremonstrance https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/contraremonstrance Today’s birthday is Annie Oakley https:/…

A Thursday

Aug. 13, 2021

Today is also National Vinyl Record Day. https://nationaltoday.com/national-vinyl-record-day/

A Wednesday

Aug. 12, 2021

Today's word is Californium. It's not what you think.

A Tuesday

Aug. 11, 2021

Another day in Louisville.

A Monday

Aug. 10, 2021

A good day being with real people. In the flesh, not virtual.

Dying to Know What to Do With Powers of Invisibility

Aug. 8, 2021

Today is Dying to Know Day https://nationaltoday.com/dying-know-day/ The Groundswell Project https://www.thegroundswellproject.com/ Our word today is consanguineous https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/consanguineous H…

The Grand Mustard Maker

Aug. 7, 2021

Today is National Mustard Day https://nationaltoday.com/national-mustard-day/ Ansley Mall, Atlanta, Georgia https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ansley_Mall Our word today is mordacious https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/mo…

Play the Piano

Aug. 6, 2021

Today is International Beer Day https://nationaltoday.com/international-beer-day/

Podcaster Auteur: Richard

Aug. 5, 2021

Today's birthday is Apollo 11 astronaut Neil Armstrong https://www.onthisday.com/people/neil-armstrong Died on this day, Marilyn Monroe, Age 36. https://www.onthisday.com/people/marilyn-monroe Today’s word is auteur https://…

Early Euphoric Memories

Aug. 4, 2021

Today is World Cookie Day. https://nationaltoday.com/national-chocolate-chip-cookie-day/ Happy birthday to Louis Armstrong, Barack Obama, and the United States Coast Guard https://www.onthisday.com/people/louis-armstrong htt…

Grab Some Nuts. Grab Some Nuts (echolalia in action)

Aug. 3, 2021

Our word today is echolalia. https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/echolalia Happy birthday, John T. Scopes. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/John_T._Scopes

Initialism or Acronym?

Aug. 2, 2021

Our word today is Initialism https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/initialism