Episodes

Did Jesse James Have A Pet Rock?

Sept. 6, 2021

Today is National Pet Rock Day https://nationaltoday.com/national-pet-rock-day/ The pet rock was created by advertising executive Gary Dahl in April 1975 https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gary_Dahl_(entrepreneur) Today's word is…

Be Thankful For Beards, Paul Harvey, and Everything Else

Sept. 5, 2021

Today is World Beard Day https://www.holidayscalendar.com/event/world-beard-day/ Born on this day in 1918, news commentator Paul Harvey, https://www.onthisday.com/people/paul-harvey From Positively Positive dot com, here are…

Bowling, Solipsism, and Architecture

Sept. 4, 2021

Today is U.S. Bowling League Day https://nationaldaycalendar.com/u-s-bowling-league-day-september-3/?subscribe=success#485 Today's word is Solipsism https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/solipsism Born on this day in 18…

Conner and McEnroe

Sept. 3, 2021

Today is Victory over Japan day, or VJ day. https://nationaltoday.com/vj-day/ Today's word is victory https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/victory Born on this day in 1952, https://www.onthisday.com/ Tennis legend Jimm…

Writing in Cursive

Sept. 2, 2021

Today is World Letter-Writing Day https://nationaltoday.com/world-letter-writing-day/ Today's word is cursive https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/cursive Born on this day in 1939, Lily Tomlin https://en.wikipedia.org/…

Arthur Godfrey and Tractors

Aug. 31, 2021

Today is National Trail Mix Day https://nationaltoday.com/national-trail-mix-day Today's word is chimerical https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/chimerical Born on this day in 1903 Arthur Godfrey https://www.onthisday.…

Would you Osculate With Frankenstein?

Aug. 31, 2021

Today is Frankenstein Day https://nationaltoday.com/frankenstein-day/ Born in London on this day in 1797, author Mary Wollstonecraft Shelley, better known as Mary Shelly, author of Frankenstein. https://www.onthisday.com/peo…

Lemons and Ayurveda

Aug. 29, 2021

Today is National Lemon Juice Day https://nationaltoday.com/national-lemon-juice-day/ Born on this day in 1936, Senator John McCain, in the Panama Canal Zone https://www.onthisday.com/people/john-mccain Also on this day, in …

Let’s Repatriate Bow Ties

Aug. 28, 2021

Today is National Bow Tie Day https://nationaltoday.com/national-bow-tie-day/ Today's word is Repatriate https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/repatriate Today's birthday is Vladimir Shukhov https://en.wikipedia.org/wik…

Trepidatious Thrift Store Shopping

Aug. 27, 2021

What’s happening today https://nationaltoday.com/august-27-holidays/ Lyndon Johnson https://www.onthisday.com/people/lyndon-b-johnson From the blog at RichGrimshaw.com https://richgrimshaw.com/Blog/blog-item-15/#wbb1 Episode…

Celebrating National Dog Day

Aug. 26, 2021

Today is National Dog Day https://nationaltoday.com/national-dog-day/ We celebrate with excerpts from The Psychology of Why We Love Dogs written by Joe Duncan on Medium.com https://medium.com/moments-of-passion/the-psycholog…

Did Leonard Bernstein Wear Secondhand Clothes?

Aug. 25, 2021

Today is National Secondhand Wardrobe Day https://nationaltoday.com/national-secondhand-wardrobe-day/ Born on this day in 1918, Leonard Bernstein https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Leonard_Bernstein From the blog at Rich Grimshaw…

How Can A Person Have Nothing To Say?

Aug. 24, 2021

Today is National Waffle Day https://nationaltoday.com/national-waffle-day/ Today's word is protagonist https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/protagonist Today's birthday is Mason Williams https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/…

Retirement and Death

Aug. 23, 2021

Today is Cheap Flight Day, Health Unit Coordinators Day, National Sponge Cake Day, National Cuban Sandwich Day, and National Heroes Day (celebrated in the Philippines) https://nationaltoday.com/august-23-holidays/ Today's wo…

Half A Year

Aug. 22, 2021

Today is Be an Angel day, National Take Your Cat to the Vet day, and World Plant Milk Day https://nationaltoday.com/august-22-holidays/ Today's word is extemporaneous https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/extemporaneous…

Laughter, Smiles, and Epistemology

Aug. 21, 2021

Today is National Senior Citizens Day www.nationaltoday.com/national-senior-citizens-day/ Today's word is Epistemology https://www.britannica.com/topic/epistemology Today's birthday is Sergey Brin https://www.onthisday.com/p…

Special Birthday on National Radio Day

Aug. 20, 2021

Today is National Radio Day. https://nationaltoday.com/national-radio-day/ Today's word is Forfend https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/forfend Born this day in 1948, rock singer Robert Plant, in west Bromwich, England…

Be Not Boring

Aug. 19, 2021

Today is World Photo Day https://nationaltoday.com/world-photo-day/ Today's word is Defenestration https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/defenestration Today's birthday is Satya Nadella, CEO of Microsoft. https://www.on…

Eat a Fajita; Advance Your Enculturation

Aug. 18, 2021

Today isNational Fajita Day https://nationaltoday.com/national-fajita-day/ Today's word is enculturation https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/enculturated Born on this day in 1774, Meriwether Lewis https://www.onthisda…

Save Planet Earth; Buy at Thrift Shops

Aug. 17, 2021

Today is National Thrift Shop Day https://nationaltoday.com/national-thrift-shop-day/ Today's word is Retronym https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/retronym Today's birthday is Francis Gary Powers https://www.onthisday…

Did You Hear The One About . . .

Aug. 16, 2021

Today is National Tell A Joke Day. https://nationaltoday.com/national-tell-joke-day/ Today's word is Panspermia https://www.merriam-webster.com/medical/panspermia On this day in 1977, Elvis left the building. https://www.ont…

Oscar Peterson Didn’t Play at Woodstock

Aug. 16, 2021

The Woodstock Music and Art Fair opened on this day in 1969 https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Woodstock Today's word is remonstrance https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/remonstrance Happy birthday is Oscar Peterson, born …

Doc Holliday Goes Bowling

Aug. 15, 2021

Happy National Bowling Day. www.nationaltoday.com Today's birthday is John Henry Holliday, a.k.a. Doc Holliday. https://www.onthisday.com/people/doc-holliday Today's word is Axinomancy https://www.merriam-webster.com/diction…

Was Annie Oakley a Lefty?

Aug. 14, 2021

International Lefthanders day https://nationaltoday.com/international-lefthanders-day/ Today’s word is Contraremonstrance https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/contraremonstrance Today’s birthday is Annie Oakley https:/…