Episodes

A Thursday

Aug. 13, 2021

Today is also National Vinyl Record Day. https://nationaltoday.com/national-vinyl-record-day/

A Wednesday

Aug. 12, 2021

Today's word is Californium. It's not what you think.

A Tuesday

Aug. 11, 2021

Another day in Louisville.

A Monday

Aug. 10, 2021

A good day being with real people. In the flesh, not virtual.

Dying to Know What to Do With Powers of Invisibility

Aug. 8, 2021

Today is Dying to Know Day https://nationaltoday.com/dying-know-day/ The Groundswell Project https://www.thegroundswellproject.com/ Our word today is consanguineous https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/consanguineous H…

The Grand Mustard Maker

Aug. 7, 2021

Today is National Mustard Day https://nationaltoday.com/national-mustard-day/ Ansley Mall, Atlanta, Georgia https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ansley_Mall Our word today is mordacious https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/mo…

Play the Piano

Aug. 6, 2021

Today is International Beer Day https://nationaltoday.com/international-beer-day/

Podcaster Auteur: Richard

Aug. 5, 2021

Today's birthday is Apollo 11 astronaut Neil Armstrong https://www.onthisday.com/people/neil-armstrong Died on this day, Marilyn Monroe, Age 36. https://www.onthisday.com/people/marilyn-monroe Today’s word is auteur https://…

Early Euphoric Memories

Aug. 4, 2021

Today is World Cookie Day. https://nationaltoday.com/national-chocolate-chip-cookie-day/ Happy birthday to Louis Armstrong, Barack Obama, and the United States Coast Guard https://www.onthisday.com/people/louis-armstrong htt…

Grab Some Nuts. Grab Some Nuts (echolalia in action)

Aug. 3, 2021

Our word today is echolalia. https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/echolalia Happy birthday, John T. Scopes. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/John_T._Scopes

Initialism or Acronym?

Aug. 2, 2021

Our word today is Initialism https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/initialism

A Surfeit of Conspiracy Theories

Aug. 1, 2021

Today is World Wide Web Day https://nationaltoday.com/world-wide-web-day/ Happy 40th birthday, MTV https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/MTV The top 10 conspiracy theories we believe are true https://www.ranker.com/list/the-conspira…

Conspiracies

July 31, 2021

Today is National Mutt Day https://nationaltoday.com/national-mutt-day-july/ Our word for today is importune . Try using it in your next instagram post. Happy Birthday Susan Bennet https://www.famousbirthdays.com/people/sus…

Demonyms and Other Delights

July 31, 2021

Today is Paperback Book Day https://nationaltoday.com/paperback-book-day/ Our word for today is demonym https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/demonym Happy 80th birthday Paul Anka https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Paul_Anka…

Dreaming of Being an Alien Intern

July 29, 2021

Our word today is intern https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/intern Today is National Intern Day https://nationaltoday.com/national-intern-day/ Alien abduction stories are the stuff of dreams https://www.iflscience.co…

The Preternatural Story of the Revolving Door

July 29, 2021

Our word today is preternatural. https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/preternatural Facts on the revolving door at https://science.howstuffworks.com/innovation/everyday-innovations/who-invented-the-revolving-door.htm E…

Scotch, Dreams, and New Friends

July 28, 2021

Today is National Scotch Day https://nationaltoday.com/national-scotch-day/ From the blog of Matthew Dicks, one of the most interesting people I know. https://mail.google.com/mail/u/0/#inbox/FMfcgzGkZZpQPXsbnJxBhLcDVCtTvhpl

Old Rockers and Covid

July 27, 2021

Today is National Aunts and Uncles Day https://nationaltoday.com/national-aunt-and-uncle-day/ Our word today is tante https://forvo.com/word/tante/

Hot Fudge Sundae Not Involved in OSHA Ruling

July 25, 2021

Today's word is Sundae https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/sundae

Celebrating Thermal Engineers and Old Jokes

July 24, 2021

Today is NATIONAL THERMAL ENGINEER DAY! https://nationaltoday.com/national-thermal-engineer-day

Alison Krouse is Transcendent on National Vanilla Ice Cream Day

July 24, 2021

Today is National Vanilla Ice Cream Day https://nationaltoday.com/national-vanilla-ice-cream-day/ Happy birthday Allison Krause https://alisonkrauss.com/ Episode art provided by Dana DeVolk https://unsplash.com/@thissillygir…

Grizzly Bears and Selena Gomez Find Ways to Improve Their Mental Health

July 23, 2021

Episode art provided by Becca https://unsplash.com/@binkabonka

Hot Dogs, Kraken, Washing Dishes

July 22, 2021

International podcast day is coming up on 9/30. https://internationalpodcastday.com/

Wally Funk and Persistence

July 21, 2021

More about Wally Funk: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wally_Funk Here are other uses of persist: https://www.wisesayings.com/persistence-quotes/